Main content

The Parish Council of Cowling is a civil local authority and the first tier of local government (Craven District Council is the second tier and North Yorkshire County Council is the third tier). The Parish Council is an elected corporate body, with 9 volunteer Councillors.

The Council employs a Clerk & Responsible Financial Officer and a Lengthsman.

About Cowling

Cowling was originally part of the large Kildwick parish. It lay within three manors of ‘Collinghead’, ‘Stott Hill and ‘Ickornshaw’. Traditionally Cowling was an agricultural area centred on the northern part of the current parish and with sparse residences.

Later the area developed an industrial settlement on the south side of the ‘Colling’ valley. This led to an increase in population concentrated around the new mills constructed along the ‘new’ road; now the A6068.

Since WW2 fifteen housing estates have been built, which include Collinge Road, Wainman’s Close/ Bannister Walk, Springwell Close, Mill Croft, Royd Court, Laycock Fields, Acre Meadow, Acre Mill, Carr Mill and Carr Mill Mews, Old Sawmills, Earl Crag View, Manor Park, Craven Court and Pinnacle View.

The substantial part of the village now forms a mile-long linear settlement along the A6068.

Next Parish Council Meeting

Parish Council Meeting will be held on Tuesday 5th July, 2022 at 7:00 PM

This meeting will be held at The Village Hall, Long Room. Members of the public are welcome to attend; please see the agenda for more details.

Download the agenda for this meeting:  Download

Subscribe for Updates

By entering your email address you are happy for Cowling Parish Council to store your information and use it to send council updates to your inbox. Please view our Privacy Policy.

Photo of the Month

We are now Quorate

We are pleased to inform you the Parish Council is now Quorate,…

Parish Council Vacancies

PARISH COUNCIL VACANCIES     Due to the uncontested…

Damaged Milestone Repair A6068

Damaged Milestone Repair You may recall an historic Milestone…